Help me make the HIBAR blog better

My name is Andrew Wilson. I am a senior lecturer in psychology at Leeds Metropolitan University in the UK. Some of you may know me from my blog and from Twitter (@PsychScientists).

I created the HIBAR blog a while back because I thought it would be a nice idea to start collecting all the post-publication peer review activity in psychology blogs in one place. However, it’s something I do in my spare time and frankly I just don’t have anything spare any more. I would like this to continue to grow, however.

What this blog needs at least a couple of interns. You would need to be interested in psychology and issues of replicability and transparent peer review. You’d need to know how to work a WordPress blog and be up to keeping the Twitter feed active (I am entirely unable time-wise to be either interesting or social on that feed, which is what it needs to develop some momentum). This might suit a psychology graduate student, and because it’s the internet you can be from anywhere.

Right now I post links to HIBAR blog posts that I come across. Part of the job would be to get more organised about hunting these down and getting more systematic about how they are presented, tagged, etc. The other thing is facilitating people using the blog to post original content if they don’t have a blog themselves (e.g. this post and this post). This blog will become useful if it is busy AND organised.

If you would like to be involved in helping me run this blog, email me at hadibeenareviewer@gmail.com with a brief introduction telling me why you are interested and what sort of social media experience you have. I would love it if you are prepared to take a very pro-active role in shaping this blog; you won’t simply be working on my master plan (because frankly I don’t have one! 🙂 Come with ideas for getting this thing rolling.

There is currently no money in this project to pay anyone, so the other thing I would like to do in the future is think about ways to fund people working behind the scenes. If you have any ideas about where to go to fund internships, etc, or (even better) if you have funds for this kind of thing you’d like to throw our way, please get in touch either in the comments, by email or via Twitter (@HIBARPsych). It would not take much to support something like this, but resources are always useful.

I’ve had some nice feedback about the blog and it seems like something people are interested in. It would be nice to make it a useful resource and I would love your help.

-andrew

About Andrew D Wilson

I am a Senior Lecturer in Psychology at Leeds Beckett University. My research is in perception, action and embodied cognition.
This entry was posted in Had I Been A Reviewer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

